Home | Council Home | Search | Contacts | About US | Provide Feedback |
AdminThursday October 19, 2017
Skip Navigation Links
Activities and EventsExpand Activities and Events
AdvancementExpand Advancement
Camping Corner
Commissioner ServiceExpand Commissioner Service
ContactsExpand Contacts
DistrictExpand District
EMail ListExpand EMail List
Journey to ExcellenceExpand Journey to Excellence
Online Rechartering
Order of the ArrowExpand Order of the Arrow
Patch GalleryExpand Patch Gallery
Photo GalleryExpand Photo Gallery
ProgramsExpand Programs
RecruitingExpand Recruiting
Religious AwardsExpand Religious Awards
ResourcesExpand Resources
RoundtableExpand Roundtable
Scouter RecognitionExpand Scouter Recognition
Support ScoutingExpand Support Scouting
TrainingExpand Training
--- Useful Links ---
Change of Position Form
Council Event Signup
The Language of Scouting
TLAs Explained

Follow us on Facebook

Get your news via EMail

Join the Northern Lights District E mail list, click on the button below

Click here for our E mail Policy

merit badges
February 2015

Return to Navigator Articles List

March Merit Badge Madness

Merit Badge Madness is coming on Saturday, March 28th! We are in the same location as last year, Maple Grove Junior High. In just a few short weeks, hundreds of scouts will gather for a day to earn one or two merit badges. Registration is now open on the District Website. The cost of the event is $10 per scout for an all-day merit badge. Some badges may have extra fees for supplies and items to bring with you to the class (check district website for more details). Adult volunteers are also needed. Please contact Vicky Mehrwerth at vickymehrwerth@hotmail.com if you have any questions or are willing to be a volunteer.

Spring Camporee: Gone with the Wind 2015

This May 8th to 10th, at Rum River Scout Reservation is where the Northern Lights Spring Camporee will be located. This year scouts will be working with electricity and wind power. Cost is $10 per scout. Webelos may attend if coming with a Boy Scout Troop. Sign up as a troop at www.northernlights.nsbsa.org today!

Round Table Location

Each month, the District convenes a Roundtable for Cub Scout Den and Pack leaders, and a Roundtable for Boy Scout Troop leaders and Venturing Advisors. Roundtables are locally-focused opportunities for in-service training, program ideas, news about the Council and District, and information-sharing with other involved Scouters. Roundtables are held the first Thursday of the month (off for the Summer) at 7:30 p.m. The location is:
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
4700 Edinbrook Terrace
Brooklyn Park, MN 55443

District Dinner Winners

Please come join us on Tuesday February 10th to congratulate our 2014 winners. Check-in begins at 5:30pm, Dinner is at 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m, and will be held at Redeemer Lutheran Church, 4201 Regent Avenue North Robbinsdale, MN. The cost is the reduced from last year: $13 per person. Come to support the shining stars of Northern Lights District with good fellowship, good food, and good fun. We will be serving a chicken dinner! Sign up today at https://scoutingevent.com/?NL2015Dinner. This link can also be found at our district website at NorthernStar.nsbsa.org.

District Award Of Merit Recipients for 2014

Vicki Mehrwerth Tait Turnquist Bob Kochendorfer

Outstanding Unit Leadership Recipients for 2014 (presented in 2015)


Outstanding Unit Leadership Recipients for 2014 (presented in 2015)

Outstanding Scoutmaster

Dan McDowell, T299


Outstanding Cubmaster

Lars Pekay, P532


Outstanding Troop Committee Chair

Sean Masterman, T542


Outstanding Pack Committee Chair

Alex Jimenez P 532


Outstanding ASM (tie)

Drew Holbeck T299

Julie Ryan T582

Outstanding Commissioner

Ron Benge


Outstanding Den Leader

Jane Hansen P299


Outstanding Webelos Leader

Kari Cherioli P299


Outstanding Tiger Leader

Michelle Ozmun P299


Outstanding Venturing Advisor

Don Peterson C84


Scouter of the Year

Bea Murphy T575



Aurora Borealis Awards 2014 - Presented in 2015

  • Debra Akermann T405
  • Dominique Akermann T405
  • Larry Benedict P532
  • Sherry Benedict P532
  • June Bernard T405, Crew 405
  • Travis Brendan P582
  • Dave Bredesen, District
  • Courtney Brown T582
  • Chris Chapman P299
  • Lisa Crosby P582, T582, C582
  • Christy Dehn P584
  • Darryl Dehn P584
  • Paul Hagstrom P584
  • Kimberly Hagstrom P584
  • Lawrence Haugberg T405
  • Peter Hollingshead P211
  • Mindy Jimenez P532
  • Jason Klema P211
  • Craig Leiter T405, C405
  • Adam Lutzke P582
  • Lisa McNiesh T299
  • Zia McNeal P532
  • Kate Mills T575
  • Kari Ann Moreau P751
  • Stuart MuellerT299
  • Charlie Murphy T575
  • Paul Ozmun P299
  • Tristan Albrecht Palmer P211
  • John Pawlowski T582
  • Dave Quady T575
  • Dan Ruemping T84
  • Matt Schaffer T534
  • Francis Schmitt T405, C405
  • Tony Stemper P420
  • Bob Theissen P365